Academy Council - Thistley Hough Academy

On behalf of all members of Thistley Hough’s Academy Council, I would like to welcome you to the Academy’s website and invite you to find out more about this wonderful place of learning.

Message from the Chair of the Academy Council

Welcome to January 2019 and a new school term.  May I take this opportunity to welcome back all students and staff and to wish you all a very happy, healthy and successful year ahead.

Time flies, and it certainly doesn’t seem a year since I was writing a welcome message for 2018.  Since then, the Academy has continued to build its reputation and track record in enabling students to achieve to the best of their ability and to progress onto post 16 education and training.  In addition to its recognition as a school that focuses on the needs of every individual student, Thistley Hough Academy has also been recognised with a national award for being the Happiest School in England.  This is a wonderful reflection of the caring, inclusive and nurturing role that Academy takes, working in partnership with parents and carers.

All members of Thistley Hough staff and Academy Council believe passionately in supporting and encouraging every student to be successful in what they do. The Academy offers a well-rounded education for all students, and offers a broad curriculum as well as a wide choice of extra-curricular activities, such as photography competitions, drama productions, sporting events and opportunities to become involved in national and international activities.  There is no doubt that Thistley Hough opens doors for brighter futures for its students.

We welcome students of all abilities and backgrounds and place great importance on meeting the needs of every individual pupil. Our strong relationships with parents and carers are an important part of our aim to provide the best education for your son or daughter. More and more parents and students are choosing Thistley Hough Academy as their first choice for secondary education. .

As you will know, Mrs Hartley has now left the Academy in order to take up a new role and I, along with all members of the the Governing Council,  would like to acknowledge her outstanding work and to wish her well for the future.

Ms Schofield, who has been a key member of Thistley Hough’s Senior leadership team for 5 years, has taken on the role of Acting Principal.  Ms Schofield is a very experienced school leader who knows Thistley Hough students and the local community well.  In her role as Acting Principal, Ms Schofield has the full support of the Academy’s Governing Council and the Creative Education Trust, as well as the staff and students.  I trust that you will give a warm welcome to Ms Schofield in her new position.   The Trust will be making arrangement for a permanent appointment to the Principalship later this term.

At Thistley Hough, we firmly believe that education is a partnership between parents, carers and staff at the Academy.  Please  do not hesitate to contact the Academy if you wish to discuss matters relating to the education or wellbeing of your son or daughter.

We look forward to working with throughout the rest of this academic year


Gill Howland

Chair of Academy Council



The Academy Council for Thistley Hough Academy:

  • Nicole McCartney – Chair
  • Dr Charles Pantin– Vice Chair
  • Jayne Schofield – Principal
  • Richard Woollacott– Primary Principal
  • Stewart Saunders – Parent Governor
  • Ann Cantrell – Parent Governor
  • Dr David Bethel – Sponsor Governor
  • Leonard Tildsley – Sponsor Governor
  • Michael Willis – Community Governor
  • Janet Wakefield – Community Governor

The Chair of the AC, can be contacted in writing via Miss Chloe Davies, Clerk to the Academy Council.