Month: June 2019

Weekly Newsletter – Important Information – Academic Year 2019-2020

Dear Parent/Carer

 

Important Information – Academic Year 2019-2020

 

In light of the change to the early May Bank Holiday 2020, I write to confirm all dates for the Academic Year 2019 – 2020. These can be found overleaf, along with the agreed Staff Training Days, when the Academy will be closed to students.

 

Could I also take this opportunity to inform you of the revised times of the day as below, which will be in place from September 2019. These changes will not affect the start or end of the school day, but do incorporate an immediate start to learning, whereby all students will go straight to Period 1 upon arrival to school. Students’ attendance will be logged as part of the standard registration to all lessons and punctuality will be monitored in the usual way. This ensures a flying start to the day, and will support better structure to Registration Time later in the day. This is a model that has proved very successful in education, and we look forward to putting this into place in the new academic year.

 

Times to the day (September 2019)

 

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday

 

Period /Registration /Break Time
Period 1 8:45am – 9:45am
Period 2 9:45am – 10:45am
Registration 10:45am – 11:05am
Morning Break 11:05am – 11:20am
Period 3 11:20am – 12:20pm
Period 4 12:20pm – 1:20pm
Lunch Break 1:20pm – 2:00pm
Period 5 2:15pm – 3:15pm

 

Period /Registration /Break Time
Period 1 8:45am – 9:45am
Period 2 9:45am – 10:45am
Registration 10:45am – 11:00am
Morning Break 11:00am – 11:15am
Period 3 11:15am – 12:15pm
Lunch Break 12:15pm – 12:45pm
Period 4 12:45pm – 2:00pm

Wednesday

Term Dates 2019 – 2020

 

 

Autumn Term 2019

Date Event
Monday 2nd September Staff Training Day – Academy closed to students
Tuesday 3rd September Staff Training Day – Academy closed to students
Wednesday 4th September Academy opens to all students
Monday 28th October –

Friday 1st November

Half -Term
Wednesday 11th December Staff Training Day – Academy closed to students
Friday 20th December Academy closes for Christmas Break

 

 

Spring Term 2020

Date Event
Monday 6th January School Progress Day
Tuesday 7th January Academy opens to all students
Monday 17th February –

Friday 21st February

Half -Term
Friday 3rd April Academy closes for Easter Break

 

 

Summer Term 2020

Date Event
Monday 20th April Academy opens to all students
Friday 8th May May Bank Holiday
Monday 25th May –

Friday 29th May

Half – Term
Wednesday 24th June Staff Training Day – Academy closed to students
Friday 17th July Academy closes to students for Summer Break
Monday 20th July Staff Training Day

 

 

INSET Days 2019 – 2020

  • Monday 2ndSeptember 2019
  • Tuesday 3rdSeptember 2019
  • Wednesday 11thDecember 2019
  • Wednesday 24thJune 2020
  • Monday 20thJuly 2020

 

Thank you for your continued support for Thistley Hough Academy.

 

With best wishes

 

Jayne Schofield

Principal